Five Things to Know About UBC's Sauder School of Business

03/21/2021

WRITTEN BY:

LUMI T.

Ranked as the #1 Business School in Canada by Maclean's Magazine in 2020, the Sauder School of Business at the University of British Columbia consistently continues to cultivate business students in Canada and around the world. Its four-year Bachelor of Commerce program is designed to help its students gain the basic foundations of essential business skills, and if you're planning to become a future student at Sauder, here are a few tips from these graduates that may be of good use!


Samad Oyegoke, a recent graduate, currently doing a contract role in financial services and signed an offer to join a professional services firm later in the year, shares his experience at Sauder, through a series of questions that expands from career setups and application processes to personal experiences and helpful tips!

How did attending this program set you up for a career?

"I think one of the best things about the program beyond the academics is the alumni network, and the Business Career Center (BCC). It's basically their job to help you find leads for jobs, do interview prep, and support your career. The profs [professors] are also available usually to talk about career development on a more personal note, but if you don't feel comfortable with them or whatever, the BCC is always there. We also have an internal page for job postings which is a massive plus that you don't get in other faculties. I think if you know what you're doing and know how to navigate the school you'll be set up very well for a career, but I'd say you have to work for it and put yourself out there. A great job isn't just going to fall from the sky for most people, unfortunately."

How was the workload, and what is your insight on the importance of participating in clubs/activities on top of studying for your courses?

"I actually started my degree at UBC in the faculty of science and frankly, I think the workload of that was a lot more. I also found the material to be harder but I wasn't the most studious in my first year so that could have been a factor as well. I'd say Sauder really emphasizes getting involved and most students are involved in 1 or more extracurricular activities on top of class. I think it makes you well-rounded. I know in high school people get involved as resume padders, and in university, that trend does continue for some, but I'd urge people to get involved in things they actually care about. You're doing yourself a massive disservice otherwise. I'd say, worry less about what things look like to potential employers, and take on new projects/challenges that interest you and/or support your personal growth."

What were the types of skills you were able to enhance in attending this program?

"I don't think I learned anything in Sauder that I couldn't have learned in another business program, to be honest. A lot of the learning also doesn't take place in class. It's outside of class and through peers, you pick up "job skills.' I'd say the biggest thing is just being around bright and ambitious people and some top-class profs who can speak to things on a higher level, and support your interest in subjects. There are also mentorship programs for specific career tracks and PMF which I wasn't a part of, but know it's regarded very highly. Beyond that, the school has tried to emphasize communication in recent years by making classes mandatory, but I feel like that's a skill that can be learned anywhere, especially customer service type jobs, which I did a lot of through school."

Your thoughts on the application process?

"I think the application process is always changing, from my understanding. Even from my cohort to the cohorts before and after, there's very little in common as far as I know. I think Sauder is always trying to recruit better and better students, so I think there's a feedback cycle. I think that also goes for UBC as an institution. It's not exclusive to Sauder. I think the calibre of students is really great and there's a reason everyone wants to go there, not just the west coast lifestyle. Wherever students in previous years might have been weak, that becomes a point to screen for in the following year. I know a few years ago there was some concern about how good some students were at communicating, so I've seen the school really try to not only recruit better communicators but also teach it as a mandatory class. I don't want to speak too negatively on it, but there are areas to improve for sure across the board in recruitment as well as some of the classes.

How was your experience as a first-year student?

"I actually had a chat with a friend about this recently, and how amazing my first year at UBC was. I struggle to put it in words. As I mentioned I didn't start out in Sauder, I was in science. I thought I wanted to go to med school, along with maybe 95% of the first years in my program.... regardless I found a lot of support both socially and academically. Did I use all the resources that were available? Definitely not. But now that I'm older and I'd like to think wiser, I can at least appreciate that they were there. I also lived on campus which I can't recommend enough, even if you're from the GVA. As I'm writing all this I realize I sound like a paid actor hahaha... But really, I had an awesome time. There were definitely some tough times too. I think that at [age] 17/18 and even beyond you're still learning about yourself and you'll make mistakes but the RAs are there to support you, the professors are there, and you have your peers too. It's easy to feel isolated when you move to a new community but I can assure you are not. And there's also an abundance of mental health resources, and I know for a fact the school is trying so hard to support students in that capacity. Additionally, I met some of my best friends in first year and we still keep in touch. Some have gone on to masters programs and others are working in cool jobs so as I mentioned there are strong networks. Actually one of them helped me find a role at her firm which was awesome. But I think, had I not lived on campus, I probably wouldn't have been as close to some people. I know a lot of people that I met later on regretted not being on campus in their first year, and so I can only empathize with the COVID-19 cohort. I don't know what universities are doing to support students' integration into the university community but it's definitely something to think about, and I'd urge you if possible to live on campus and get involved."

 Any advice/tips you think may help first-year students?

Samad gives some wise tips, explaining it is natural when things do not go as planned. "I think this is a great question. I'd say the biggest thing is to have self-empathy. Seriously. You'll fail tests, and you will make mistakes, but that's part of the process of learning. Before I went to UBC, I had this whole 4-year plan and it's funny to think about because literally, nothing I planned happened. I ended up graduating in 5 years which even then still felt rushed. And it was, and I regret it now...Point is, it's not a race. Take your time. Take 5 years minimum, take internships (lots if possible), and enjoy yourself. Even though I just graduated and at one of the worst times, I really believe from the bottom of my heart I did university the right way, I had a good time and was fortunate enough to get some great work experiences and meet awesome people socially and professionally. Some people might disagree, but I personally think you should party it up in first year. Get rowdy. Get it out of your system. The earlier the better. Because at some point you're going to want to buckle down for your goals, whatever they are. And I'd say the social aspects of university are really just as important as the academics. Get to know people, not just in your faculty. Network with everyone. Professors, students, people on campus, people in the city, at bars, in student clubs, at not for profits etc... All these people eventually become your network when you graduate, but while you're in school they're your friends, your support system, and your invite to parties (lol). Honestly, balance is key. But for the most part, play hard & study hard."


Another former graduate, Abigail Choi, lets us in on her personal experience at Sauder,

Experience at Sauder

"Sauder was a wonderful experience. The faculty, the students, the classes and the campus were all top-notch. Sauder provides a lot of opportunities for students to connect, socialize and have fun together. I made some of my best friends while studying at Sauder. The professors really care about the student's success and they are always available to answer any of your questions. Your success and the student experience are completely in the hands of the student. It's important to make time to meet people, join clubs, attend events in order to get the full experience. Don't be afraid to ask your professors questions when you don't understand. It is okay to not know!"

Courses

I ended up specializing in the Marketing concentration. My favourite classes were Brand Management, Principles of Organizational Behaviour (required course), Consumer Behaviour and Commercial Law (required course). My 3 years at Sauder flew by so quickly. I loved every moment of it and the teaching was superb! Would highly recommend the Sauder School of business to anyone who is interested in a Bachelor of Commerce degree!

Application Experience:

In my experience being a well-rounded individual was really important. High grades were important but I also worked part-time, danced competitively, played the piano and I was taking the RCM examinations and I was volunteering at my local church.

Abigail ends off with an inspiring note, reminding us that it is natural for our future paths to be rocky. "[...] Please know that if you don't get in the first time, that is not the end. I didn't get in straight from high school. I spent a year at Langara College and I gave it my absolute all to get the highest grades possible. I tried to reflect on my strengths and took electives that I felt confident that I would excel in. The year I spent at Langara actually helped set me up for success throughout the rest of my school and career. Prior to the rejection, I only did the bare minimum as I never saw any consequences to my studying habits. I still got mid-range 80s without trying. It was only through my initial rejection, that I realized that my study habits were lacking and I worked to ensure that I tried my absolute best in everything I committed myself to so that at the end of the day I can look back and be proud of my work regardless of the outcome."


From these personal experiences and tips, hopefully you've learned a thing or two about UBC's Sauder School of Business. A special thank you to these graduates for taking the time to sharing their advice and experiences! For more details about Sauder's Bachelor of Commerce Program, you can view their brochure linked below, which outlines the specific courses students will be taking, as well as additional information, such as exchange programs and the Commerce Undergraduate Society.

https://issuu.com/sauder-business-school/docs/ubc-bcom-sept-2021-entry-brochure?fr=sZmM0YzIxMzA3NjQ 



Works Cited

Choi, A. (2021, March 19). Personal interview [Personal online interview].

Oyegoke, S. (2021, March 19). Personal interview [Personal online interview]. 

"UBC BCom - Sept 2021 Entry Brochure." Issuu, 2021, issuu.com/sauder-business-school/docs/ubc-bcom-sept-2021-entry-brochure?fr=sZmM0YzIxMzA3NjQ. 


Toronto, ON.
All rights reserved 2020
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started