University of Ottawa, Bachelor of Commerce

03/15/2021

Located in Canada's capital, the University of Ottawa is home to over 40 000 students. Being the largest bilingual (French-English) university in the world, there are over hundreds of programs for students to choose from. The Bachelor of Commerce program, located at the Telfer School of Management, is a popular choice amongst undergraduates. Students are able to choose a major from seven fields (Accounting, Business Technology Management, Finance, Healthcare Analytics, Human Resource Management, International Management, Management and Marketing). In addition to this program, students can get involved in business extracurriculars such as the Finance Society, DECA, and The Entrepreneurs' Club.

Grade Requirements

In order to apply for the Bachelor of Commerce program at the University of Ottawa, the following grade requirements need to be kept in mind.

High Schools:
Courses should have an average in the low 80s to be considered.
Required:

  • English 4U (ENG 4U)

  • Calculus and Vectors 4U (MCV 4U)

  • Advanced Functions (MHF 4U)

One of the following:

  • English 4U (ENG 4U)

  • Français 4U

If students have not taken Calculus and Vectors, they have the option to take a replacement course at the university during their first term, or the summer before.

Note: There are no supplementary requirements for this program.

Reflections from Current Students

To help students interested in applying to the Bachelor of Commerce program, we asked former and current students who went to the University of Ottawa why they decided on this program.

Shifa Nanda (BCom '22) joined this program because:
"I chose uOttawa because of the city and the program itself. The finance program at my uni looked way more in-depth compared to other offers I had gotten. Second, Ottawa having 3 universities and one college was the most student-centric city and I couldn't think of a better place to live!"

Meanwhile, Yasshna Pandit (BCom '22) decided to attend because:
"The range of courses available at the University of Ottawa was better suited for me over other universities."

These students were kind enough to share some words of advice for those interested in attending the University of Ottawa.

Shifa wanted to say:
"One thing I wish I knew in my first and second year was the importance of attending networking events. I always took it lightly thinking that I could start when I am applying for jobs. But I see now that had I started in my first year itself, my network would've been much larger and effective. So my advice for freshmen would be to focus on building your resume, LinkedIn and network from day 1."

Additionally, Yasshna had this to share:
"My advice would be to not try to decide what you want after 5 years immediately. Take your time. Learn things and then build on something you are confident you will love to do for your entire life."

Resources:


Toronto, ON.
All rights reserved 2020
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started